Its OK to be Clueless

From the very young ages of 3 and 4, adults are always asking us the same question.

“What do you want to be when you get older?”

And from the very first time you’re asked that question, you’re mind is wondering.

“What will I be? What will I become? What job do I want to have for the rest of my life?”

Do you know that your brain is not fully developed until the age 25?? Yep, you read that correctly, 25 years old. Yet, society tells you that when you turn 18 and graduate high school that you should have your entire life planned out. But your brain is still growing. Actually growing a lot. 7 more years of growing.

I’m gonna hit my final point right now. Like 4 sentences in. Because its that important. The entire point of your whole life, and being young, and growing up, is learning who you are. Learning your strengths, weaknesses, likes, dislikes, what makes you happy and what doesn’t bring you any joy. That’s the journey called life. Exploring the world and yourself. So STOP stressing about who you’re going to be or what you’re going to be.

And you’re thinking, “Oh that’s so simple right? Like just stop worrying about my future, sure. No problem.”

But it really can be that simple. I’m still learning this too, and I still stress and I still wonder. But I decided to stop pressuring myself to be ready before I am. I decided I will figure it out whenever the time is right.

You can decide that too.

You can choose to just go with the flow. You can choose to let life show you your passions. Let the journey happen and go with it.

How boring would life be if you knew right now, right this very second, how you were going to spend every day for the rest of your life?

Stop putting pressure on yourself to have all the answers. Stop telling yourself that you have to know everything right now. Because I promise you, all it does is make it impossible for you to enjoy what is happening right now. Life is literally passing you by as you sit and stress about your future. People are passing you by and experiences and memories. Gone just like that. Without you. Because you felt like you needed to decide right this second if you’re going to major in science or English. If you’re going to be a nurse or a teacher. Guess what, life will be just as good if you figure it out next week, or next semester, or maybe next year. Its all part of the journey. And no one else cares if you change your mind 10,000 times. (except maybe your parents if they’re paying your bills, but that’s a topic for another day) No one cares if you think you want to be an engineer and then you take a class and decide you hate it and you change your major, and then you change it again, and again. Because the only one who matters is you. Your happiness matters, not society’s absurd pressure for you to have all the answers.

And if you’re thinking, but I need to make money. I need to not waste money. I need to graduate and get a job. That’s all fine and dandy. And if you know me you know that I am an advocate for working and making money. BUT, its all about balance. And MONEY COMES AND GOES. Always. Sometimes you have it. Sometimes you don’t. Sometimes you have a lot, other times you have none. Its fine. Cause life works out. It has up to this point right? So you budget a little more this semester than last. Its fine. Maybe taking a couple exploration classes is exactly what you needed to find your passion. And next semester you get an internship and money is good again, and most importantly, you’re HAPPY.

I made a promise to myself that I will not let life pass me by any longer. I will not stress away my own happiness. That’s my only goal for this post, to hopefully convince you to do the same.

Smile. And enjoy the ups and downs. That’s literally what life is all about. And its OK to not have the answers. They’ll come.

 

Leave a Reply

