A whole new meaning to, “You do you boo boo.”

I’m learning to be selfish sometimes.


No, I did not leave out any words there. I am making a commitment to myself to put myself first sometimes. I notice with myself, and people around me, that we often become so focused on the people around us, our jobs, our school work, our hobbies, that we forget to take care of ourselves. By “take care of” I mean spend time with, pamper, listen to, and enjoy ourselves. We get out of touch with our own needs and desires. And many of us feel guilty when we DO take care of ourselves.

Or maybe its just me.

But I’m assuming that I’m not alone here.

How many of us would give our whole night up to be there for a friend who was having a rough time? I hope most of us would. But why can’t we seem to do that for ourselves? We can’t even take 10 minutes out of our day to check in with ourselves to see what we need as individuals. I know in my life, that needs to change. There is a time and a place to be selfless. But SOMETIMES its ok to put ourselves first.

I challenge you if you’re reading this to take just 10 minutes each night to do something for yourself. Maybe your nails haven’t been painted in a while; paint them. Maybe its been AGES since you’ve had a relaxing bubble bath; soak away. Or maybe you used to read all the time and have just gotten “too busy”; pick up an old classic and remind yourself why you love books so much. What ever it is you need, just take 10 minutes each night to focus on that thing. I would bet that if you do this for a week, at the end of the week you’ll feel refreshed, less stressed, and happier.

And the best part: your friends, family, SO won’t even notice those 10 minutes you slipped away to “just do you boo boo.”

Leave a Reply

